Chess Clubs in Ohio

Chess Clubs in Ohio

Chess has a long history in Ohio, with the first known chess club in the state being founded in Cincinnati in 1845. Other early chess clubs in Ohio include the Cleveland Chess Club, founded in 1857, and the Dayton Chess Club, founded in 1875.

Ohio has produced several notable chess champions over the years, including Samuel Factor, who won the Ohio State Chess Championship in 1896 and 1900, and George Koltanowski, who held the title of Ohio State Chess Champion in 1933. Another notable Ohio chess champion is Dean Ippolito, who won the Ohio State Chess Championship in 1999.

In the recent years, Ohio has been home to several successful chess programs and clubs, including the Cleveland Chess Club, the Columbus Chess Club, the Dayton Chess Club, and the Cincinnati Chess Club, which continue to promote the game and support local chess players.

Ohio Chess Association in Columbus, OH

Greater Cleveland Chess Club in Brecksville, OH

Cincinnati Chess Club in Cincinnati, OH

Progress with Chess in Cleveland, OH

Fellowship of the King Chess Club in Columbus, OH

Central Chess Club in Columbus, OH

The Royal Oak Initiative Chess Club in Columbus, OH

Chess Club of OSU in Columbus, OH

Dayton Chess Society in Dayton, OH

Marysville Chess Club in Marysville, OH

The Chess Enterprise in Reynoldsburg, OH

Parma Chess Club in Strongsville, OH

Greater Toledo Area Chess Club in Toledo, OH